Clubs & Societies

Old Boys’ Golfing Society

President: Mr R Pinkerton
Secretary/Treasurer: Mr T Erwin
Committee: Office Bearers, plus Mr S Stockman and Mr J Fullerton.

Members of the Old Pupils’ Golfing Society competed for the Bailie Cup at Galgorm Castle Golf Club on Friday, 15 April, 2011 when the winner was Ciaran Corbett, 2nd Robin Dick and 3rd Gregor Bailie.  The visitors’ prize was won by Kenny Gregg.

Portstewart Riverside Course was the venue for the Swann-Hanna Cup on Friday, 20 May, 2011  On this occasion, the winner was Taylor Erwin, with Robert McCord in 2nd place and James Erwin 3rd.  The visitors’ prize was won by Ronnie Warburton

President’s Day was held at Shandon Park Golf Club on 26 August 2011.  The winner was Gregor Bailie, 2nd Jack Harper and 3rd Robin Dick.  The visitors’ prize was won by John Finnegan and the team competition went to Gregor Bailie, Robin Dick and Kenny Gregg.

Down Royal Golf Club was the venue for the Public Schools’ Old Boys’ Golfing Society Competition on Wednesday, 25 May 2011. Our team of C. Anderson, G. Bailie, C. Corbett, L. Davidson and T. Erwin finished 2nd in the Nett Shield and 3rd in the Gross Cup.

The Golfing Society is always keen to attract new members and anyone interested should contact Taylor Erwin on (028) 9446 3364 or (028) 2588 2034.

Past Pupils’ Lady Golfers’ Association

Captain:                        Mrs Anne Speedie
Hon Secretary:              Mrs Lesley Harkness
Treasurer:                     Mrs Jane Logan

The Past Pupils’ Lady Golfers’ Association enjoyed three outings during 2011.

Dorothy McCaughey’s Captain’s Day, postponed last September due to bad weather, was held at Portadown Golf Club on 11 April 2011.  The winner was Dorothy McKillen, with Robina Wilson in 2nd place and Betty Smyth 3rd.  The Seniors’ Prize was won by Phyllis Ditty.

Ballymena Golf Club was the venue for the second outing on Monday, 13 June 2011, when the winner was Betty Smyth, 2nd Anne Speedie and 3rd Louie Fillis.

The final outing was held at Massereene Golf Club on Thursday, 4 August, 2011  The winner was Hilda Wallace, 2nd Julie McCartney and 3rd Shauna Park.

Unfortunately, Anne Speedie’s Captain’s Day at Moyola Park Golf Club also had to be postponed because of bad weather.  It is hoped to combine this event with the 2012 A.G.M.

Dunmurry Golf Club was the venue for the second outing on 5 July, when the winner was Audrey Gibxon, with Margaret McCaughey runner-up.  The most improved on the back nine was Mary Rea and the Seniors’ Prize was won by Betty Smyth.

Unfortunately Dorothy McCaughey’s Captain’s Day on 6 September had to be cancelled due to bad weather.  It is hoped to combine this event with the AGM in April 2011.

Any past pupils interested in joining the lady golfers should contact Dorothy McCaughey on (028) 3887 1758.  Everyone is very welcome.

Old Pupils’ Badminton Club

The Old Pupils’ Badminton Club continues to meet regularly from September to April in the School gymnasia at 7.30 pm on Monday and Thursday evenings.

May we take this opportunity to invite any Year 12 – 14 pupils, past pupils, parents and friends to join the badminton club and enjoy the excellent facilities provided.